"Best Cycling in the French Pyrenees"

Unique & Custom Pyrenees Bicycle Tours!

Col du Tourmalet - Best Cycling Routes of the Pyrenees

West Ascent


 Riding Time*:  2h03'
 Distance:  18.3 km | 11.4 mi  Grade %:  7.7 %
 Elevation Gain:  1450 m | 4,757 ft  Starting Elevation:  710m | 2,330 ft
 Starting Location:  Luz-Saint-Sauveur  Final Elevation:  2115m | 6,939 ft
 Period of the Year:  July to October
 Routes:  Route 5; Route 10; Route 11

Route: Luz-St-Sauveur (710m) > Esterre (750m) > Barèges (1220m) > Super-Barèges (1770m) > Col du Tourmalet (2115m)

Tourmalet is the climb of all climbs from the Tour de France: more Tours have been won on Tourmalet alone than on any other climb. Although its name alone is legendary, the challenge of the actual climb is as real as the scenery is spectacular. The western climb from Luz runs first through a deep shaded valley and then up at a constant grade of more than 7%. Half-way up it opens onto wide meadows and verdant pastures that give you a glimpse of the top—and the much steeper final kilometers that will take you there. There are two ways to climb Tourmalet: get into the mood, suffer and compare your time to the best or take your time, stop to take photos at every turn and save your legs for those last killer kilometers. Either way, you'll love riding the legend. If you'd like to include Tourmalet in a more comprehensive ride, check out my recommended cycling routes for a selection ranging from loops visiting pristine valleys and medieval villages with fine cuisine to extreme mountain challenges.

This page is an excerpt from: "Best Cycling Routes of the Pyrenees".

Ride the Tourmalet on one of these unique and exclusive tours:


  Privacy Policy   /   Sitemap   /    Subscribe   /   Tell a Friend   /    Follow on Facebook
  © 2009, Native Planet Adventures  /  Photos by J-Phi and Yumi Soulé, and Guillaume Cassou
Delicious Save this on Delicious    France custom cycling tours with unique itineraries to discover and ride your bike through France's most spectacular regions: Pyrenees, Alps, Corsica, Dordogne, Ventoux, Provence